What is the Dukan Diet?
What is the Dukan Diet?

Many people resort to many diets to lose weight fast. One of the diets that those who want to lose weight try is the Dukan diet. The Dukan diet, which has become very popular recently, is one of the methods used by those who want to lose weight in a short time. The Dukan diet is a type of diet that contains more protein than other diet lists and therefore has a satiating effect.

What is the Dukan Diet?

The Dukan Diet, which was first prepared by Pierre Dukan in 2000, is a diet that has stages and provides a healthy and permanent weight loss as a result of progress according to these stages. These stages are attack, progress, strengthening and maintaining phases. The Dukan diet is a protein- and fat-based diet.

In this diet, the amount of calories that the body spends to burn protein increases, so weight is lost quicker. The first phase of the Dukan diet is the attack phase. In the attack phase, certain foods are consumed and a diet begins quickly.

How is the Dukan Diet Applied?

Attack Phase

The attack phase lasts between 1-10 days. This stage consists of pure protein sources, 1.5 tablespoons of oatmeal and at least 6 glasses of water. Only certain foods can be consumed during the attack phase.

Foods that can be consumed in the attack phase are oat bran, eggs, milk, fat-free cheese, chicken, lean beef, offal, seafood, and fat-free yoghurt. These products can be consumed at any time of the day. The purpose of the first phase is to accustom the body to diet and to create a change in metabolism.

Progress Phase

At this stage, pure protein sources are kept to be consumed. At this stage, vegetable varieties are added to the nutrition plan on a daily basis. There are foods that should not be consumed on the Dukan diet. These are potatoes, corn, peas, beans, lentils, avocados and fruit varieties.

During the progress phase, 2 tablespoons of oatmeal can be consumed. The nutrition plan is arranged in such a way as to include protein and vegetables in addition to protein. Spinach, lettuce, green leafy vegetables, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, brussels sprouts, bell pepper, asparagus, artichoke, eggplant, cucumber, celery, tomato, green beans, mushrooms, zucchini and carrots can be consumed.

Strengthening Phase

At this stage, the goal is not to lose weight, but to prevent weight gain. The food given in the other two stages can be consumed together. In this phase, as in the previous phases, they can consume as much protein and vegetables as they want, together with oat bran and water. In addition, some foods that are prohibited at this stage are also allowed to be consumed. In addition to the foods in the attack and progress stages, some of the prohibited foods are also consumed. These are two slices of whole wheat bread per day, cheese, 1-2 portion of starch per week, 225 gr. pasta or corn, beans, legumes, rice or potatoes, lamb 1-2 times a week, a celebratory meal twice a week, protein day once a week.

Maintaining Phase

The maintaining phase is the final phase in this diet. At this stage, as long as the weight remains stable, the rules in the strengthening phase are followed. The diet is not completely finished at this phase. Everything can be consumed at this phase, but it is critical that it be consumed in limited quantities.